Swine Industry Opportunities for Youth: Scholarships, Contests

Judging Contest ( Ernie Barnes, National Pork Board )

Youth interested in the swine industry have many opportunities waiting for them from leadership development to scholarship financial support. Don't miss these great ways to fuel your passion for the swine industry while gaining great life experiences.

Illinois offers youth scholarships
The Illinois Pork Producers Association announced scholarship opportunities for students. Each year, Illinois Pork presents nine students with an IPPA scholarship. There are three levels of awards presented to students, including: (3) Gold Scholarships at $2,000 each; (3) Silver Scholarships at $1,500 each; (3) Bronze Scholarships at $1,000 each. 

Funding for these scholarships is made possible through the Keppy Foundation. Applicants must be currently enrolled as an undergraduate or be enrolling to begin in the Fall of 2020 to be eligible. IPPA Scholarships are open to students pursuing any undergraduate degree at any two-year or four-year college. Previous winners may apply again. 
In 2020, the Dedert Family is offering one $1,000 scholarship in memory of Joy Dedert. She was a dedicated individual, wife, mother and advocate for the pork industry. A winner will be chosen from the IPPA applications. 

In addition, Illinois Pork is hosting the Adam Fesser Scholarship, sponsored by the Mid-Illinois Pork Producers Association. This $1,000 award will be given to an undergraduate at a university/college or community college for the fall semester 2020. Applicants must also have been a 4-H or FFA member and an Illinois resident. 

The Ryan & Friends Scholarship is sponsored by the Purebred Swine Council. This scholarship will award a total of four $2,000 scholarships in 2020. Applicants must be an undergraduate at a university/college or community college for the fall semester 2020. Applicants must also have been a 4-H or FFA member. Top applicants will be called in for interviews by the Ryan & Friends Scholarship committee. 

For more information, visit ilpork.com/youth/scholarships.

Youth to participate in Iowa Pork Congress judging contest 
The Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA) Youth Swine Judging Contest will take place at the 2020 Iowa Pork Congress on Jan. 23 at the Pioneer Livestock Pavilion on the Iowa State Fairgrounds in Des Moines. 
Check-in for the contest will be at the fairgrounds on Jan. 23, from 8-9:30 a.m., with the contest starting at 10 a.m. Teams will judge four classes of animals: keep/cull gilts; live carcass evaluation; market hogs; and commercial gilts. There will also be two short assessments, each containing approximately 12 questions. The first will focus mostly on general farm practices, and the second will focus on meat quality and characteristics as they relate to pork production.

More information is available at iowapork.org.

Iowa youth vie for Youth Leadership Team
Fifteen young women and men are competing for three positions on the 2020 IPPA Youth Leadership Team. The competition will be held during Iowa Pork Congress Jan. 22 and 23, and winners will be named at the evening banquet on Jan. 23. 
The Youth Leadership Team is designed for those who are passionate about the pork industry, an IPPA release said. Contestants are seniors in high school or college students up to age 20 at the time of the event. Candidates will be judged on pork and pig production knowledge through a speech presentation, personal interview, media interview, experience, and a test about the topics. 
The female contestant with the highest score will automatically be crowned Iowa Pork Queen, and receives a $4,000 scholarship, plaque, crown and sash. Two other applicants will become Premier Pork Youth Ambassadors; each receives a $4,000 scholarship and plaque. All three will assist with state pork promotional and educational activities throughout 2020. 
This year’s contestants include: 
Abby Bean, Buena Vista County
Alexis Berte, Kossuth County
Samantha Black, Story County
Brooke Boyle, Woodbury County
Kylee Brown, Madison County
Ellie Cook, Hardin County
Paige Dagel, O'Brien County
Madison Fishback, Washington County
Caleb Hogan, Jones County
Ashley Kahler, Story County
Eric Keller, Tama County
Christian Koch, Plymouth County
Macy Loecke, Delaware County
Zachary Riedemann, O'Brien County
Dalton Weeks, Warren County

More from Farm Journal's PORK:

Swine Judging Contests Provide More Than Meets the Eye


A Little Peace in the Struggle


ICYMI: 2019 Iowa Pork Congress Coverage