Next Generation of Swine Veterinarians Receive Scholarships at AASV

Recipients of the $5,000 AASVF-Merck Veterinary Student Scholarship (from left): Shelby Perkins, University of Missouri; Grace Elijah, Kansas State University; Rachel Stika, Iowa State University; Sophie Leone, Colorado State University; Kayla Castevens, North Carolina State University; Elizabeth Noblett, North Carolina State University; and Taylor Homann, University of Minnesota. Also pictured are Drs Jack Creel, Joe Roder, and Justin Welsh, Merck Animal Health. Not pictured are scholarship recipients Matt Finch, Iowa State University; Jamie Madigan, North Carolina State University; and Zach Talbert, University of Illinois. ( AASV )

Veterinary students were honored with scholarship support at the 2019 American Association of Swine Veterinarians annual meeting in Orlando, Fla.

AASV Foundation Honors Top Students
The American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation awarded scholarships totaling $25,000 to 15 veterinary students.

Kimberlee Baker

Kimberlee Baker, Iowa State University, received a $5,000 scholarship for the top student presentation titled “Detecting porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome virus (PRRSV) via polymerase chain reaction (PCR) by pooling pen-based oral fluid samples.” Zoetis provided the financial support for the Top Student Presenter Award. 

Additional scholarships totaling $20,000 were funded by Elanco Animal Health. 

Scholarship Winners 2500

Four veterinary student presenters received $2,500 scholarships: (l to r) Erin Kettelkamp, University of Illinois; Marjorie Schleper, University of Minnesota; Enise DeCaluwe-Tulk, University of Guelph; and Sam Baker, Iowa State University.

Scholarship winners 1500

Five veterinary student presenters received $1,500 scholarships: (l to r) Anne Szczotka, Iowa State University; Brandi Burton, University of Illinois; Abby Vennekotter, University of Illinois; and Kayla Castevens, North Carolina State University; . Not pictured: Daniel Brown, University of Illinois.

Scholarship Winners 500

Student presenters receiving $500 scholarships were: (l to r) Sophia Leone, Colorado State University; Joshua Hewitt, Iowa State University; and Matthew Herber, University of Pennsylvania;. Not pictured: Katelyn Rieland, University of Minnesota and Matt Finch, Iowa State University.

Forty-four veterinary students from 14 universities submitted abstracts for consideration. From those submissions, 15 students were selected to present during the annual meeting. Zoetis, sponsor of the Student Seminar, provided a $750 travel stipend to each student selected to participate.

Merck Animal Health Lends Support to Future Swine Practitioners
Merck Animal Health (known as MSD Animal Health outside the United States and Canada), in partnership with the American AASVF - named the 2019 recipients of the AASVF/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarships.

The recipients, who will each receive a $5,000 scholarship, are:
•    Kayla Castevens, North Carolina State University
•    Grace Elijah, Kansas State University
•    Matt Finch, Iowa State University
•    Taylor Homann, University of Minnesota
•    Sophie Leone, Colorado State University
•    Jamie Madigan, North Carolina State University
•    Elizabeth Noblett, North Carolina State University
•    Shelby Perkins, University of Missouri
•    Rachel Stika, Iowa State University
•    Zach Talbert, University of Illinois

More AASV Coverage:

AASV Celebrates 50 Years with Record Attendance at Annual Meeting

Illinois Veterinarian Named AASV's 2019 Swine Practitioner of the Year

How Will Pork Industry Survive Trying Times?

Waddell Challenges Future Leaders; Says AASV is Built to Last

AASV Announces Veterinary Student Poster Competition Awardees