MPA Awards Presented; Speech Finals Held at Missouri Pork Expo

MPA Chairman's Award Presented to Scott Phillips  

Scott Phillips from Drexel, Mo., was named the recipient of the Missouri Pork Association’s (MPA) Chairman's Award during the 2020 Missouri Pork Expo on February 11, according to an association release. Each year, the MPA Chairman presents the award to a key individual for their support of the pork industry, the Association and its members.  

Phillips returned to the family farm in 1990 after serving in the U.S. Air Force Reserves as an A-10 fighter pilot. He and his brother Martin own Phillips Family Farms, a 2,000 sow farrow-to-finish operation. Additionally, Scott and his nephew Nathan joined in a partnership to build and operate a 2,500 sow farrow-to-wean building called Mulberry Creek Farms.

Phillips currently serves as a director on the National Pork Board and is on the producer services committee. He also served as a National Pork Producers Council delegate at Pork Forum, a Pork Board delegate and was a member of the Missouri Swine Focus Advisory Committee, the release notes. He participated in the Pork Leadership Academy in 2005 and received the Pork All American Award in 2002. He was also Chairman of the Missouri Pork Association in 2015 and 2016, and served on the USMEF Trade Committee and is a member of the Board for the U.S. Farmers and Ranchers Alliance.

MPA Presents Award to Senator Mike Bernskoetter 

The Outstanding Legislator Award to was presented to Senator Mike Bernskoetter (R-59th District) during the 2020 Missouri Pork Expo on February 11. Senator Bernskoetter was chosen for his outstanding support of the Missouri Pork Association, the Missouri pork industry and all of agriculture, an association release said. 

"Senator Bernskoetter is a strong advocate for agriculture and the pork industry," said Marcus Belshe, chairman of the Missouri Pork Association, in the release. "He understands agriculture needs fair and balanced statewide regulations in order to remain profitable."

In the past year, Senator Bernskoetter sponsored legislation that created a level playing field for agriculture.

Six Students Compete in 2020 State Speech Finals

Anderson Rogers, a student with the South Harrison FFA program, won the FFA Pork Speaking Contest state finals, held on February 11 at the 2020 Missouri Pork Expo. Rogers was one of six speakers to reach the state finals. Students qualified for the finals by winning their area, then district contest, an MPA release states.

For his win Rogers earned a plaque and a check for $200.

Students also competing were Madison Holmes, a member of the Columbia FFA chapter, who placed second, earning $150. Kaitlin Kleiboeker from the Pierce City FFA finished third, earning $100. Also competing in the state finals were Kelsey Wallis, Eldon FFA; Chris Brashear, Koshkonong FFA; and Ava Laut, Fredericktown FFA- who each received $50, the release states.

Alltech sponsored the FFA Pork Speaking Contest, which took place during the Missouri Pork Expo held in Columbia at the Holiday Inn Executive Center.