House Moves Forward with 2018 Farm Bill Process

( Sara Schafer )

Last week, the U.S. House of Representatives moved to go to conference on the 2018 Farm Bill, naming 47 representatives to serve on the conference committee with the U.S. Senate.

House Speaker Paul Ryan, R-Wis., and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., named the representatives from nine committees with jurisdiction over the legislation.

The committees include Agriculture; Education and Workforce; Energy and Commerce; Financial Services; Foreign Affairs; Oversight and Government Reform; Natural Resources; Science, Space and Technology; and Transportation and Infrastructure.

In addition, House Agriculture Committee Ranking Member Collin Peterson, D-Minn., delivered a motion instructing conferees to insist on 10-year permanent funding for animal disease preparedness and response programs. The motion passed with a vote of 392-20.

The House Farm Bill has funding for such programs, but the Senate bill only has language authorizing appropriations. The Senate is expected to vote this week on moving to conference and naming participants.


Written by the National Pork Producers Council