AASV Announces Veterinary Student Poster Competition Awardees

( AASV )

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV) provided an opportunity for 15 veterinary students to compete for awards in the Veterinary Student Poster Competition. Newport Laboratories sponsored the competition, offering awards totaling $4,000.

On the basis of scores received in the original judging of abstracts submitted for the AASV Student Seminar, the top 15 abstracts not selected for oral presentation at the annual meeting were eligible to compete in the poster competition. A panel of three AASV practitioners interviewed the competing students and scored their posters to determine the scholarship awards.

Newport Laboratories announced the following awards during the AASV Luncheon on March 11.

Jordan Buchan

$500 scholarship: Jordan Buchan, University of Guelph – “How neonatal factors affect reproductive performance of swine replacement breeding stock”

second place

$400 scholarships: Jacob Baker, Iowa State University; Amanda Anderson, Iowa State University

$300 scholarships: Andrew Noel, Iowa State University; David Pillman, University of Minnesota; Brooke Smith, University of Illinois

$200 scholarships: Gabrielle Fry, Purdue University; Taylor Homann, University of Minnesota; Katie Kehl, Kansas State University; Elizabeth Noblett, North Carolina State University; Emily Nogay, University of Pennsylvania; Shelby Perkins, University of Missouri; Justin Schumacher, University of Pennsylvania; Rachel Stika, Iowa State University; Jonathan Tubbs, Auburn University.

In addition to the poster competition awards, each student poster participant received a $250 travel stipend from Zoetis and the AASV.

More AASV Coverage:

AASV Celebrates 50 Years with Record Attendance at Annual Meeting

Illinois Veterinarian Named AASV's 2019 Swine Practitioner of the Year

How Will Pork Industry Survive Trying Times?

Waddell Challenges Future Leaders; Says AASV is Built to Last